top of page
Writer's pictureGerald Glassford

Hello from the Pederson Factor!

Let me start this off by saying that writing Vendetta Dark was probably the most difficult thing I’ve ever done. What I’ve learned from the experience is that anybody can type words onto a computer screen and call themselves a writer. But it takes patience and no shortage of perseverance to actually live up to the title. I’ve met quite a few people over the years that have aspired to write novels, but most of them never finish or they lock their work in a drawer, and it never sees the light of day.

While writing this book, there were a ton of doubts in my head. However, I decided that the opinions of others mattered little in comparison to actually finishing the book. I’ve always been a fan of books, and I’ve always wondered if I can write one. If anything, I wanted to prove to myself that I could do it.

The idea for Vendetta Dark came from reading a lot of detective novels and a lot of comic books. Spiderman, Batman, John Constantine, and Arrow are only a few of the fictional characters that inspired me to write Vendetta Dark. Every kid at some point in their life has daydreams about being a hero or doing something heroic. The characters in this novel were created from a mixture of daydreams and anger at modern society and the politics that govern them. The concept of good evil and the definition of the word “hero” are both things that have become distorted over the years.

After spending days thinking about these things, the outline for this novel started to take shape. How do people fight an evil that’s rooted in the very foundations on which we live our day-to-day lives? Politics, religion, science, all of these things that started out with noble intentions have become twisted and corrupt. In Alan Moore’s Watchmen comic that was first published in 1986, Moore poses the question of “Who watches the Watchmen?” Who keeps the people in check that are supposed to keep us in check? While I am not be able to answer that question, it was certainly a fun concept to build a story around.

If you’ve reached the end of this introduction and have decided to read Vendetta Dark, I truly appreciate it. Writing this book is one of the most satisfying things I have ever done. While I do quite a bit of writing already, being a journalism major at National University, I still enjoyed this experience a great deal. And with the support of readers like you, I can keep doing it! That being said, I hope you enjoy Vendetta Dark.

Comments


bottom of page