top of page
Josh Pederson

Josh Pederson's 2018 Book List

Updated: Feb 25, 2019

After writing the Top 200 Games List for Pop Culture Cosmos, I've decided that I'm not too fond of writing lists. Fortunately, this list is a lot shorter, because I haven't had a chance to do a lot of reading this year (or writing for that matter). If you're a fan of my work, and want to know what books have inspired (or disgusted) me this year. Here is the official list of everything I have read this year. Enjoy.


Grow Up

by Ben Brooks

To say that Ben Brooks is a talented writer would be an understatement. As one of the youngest authors whose work I've ever had the privilege of reading, I can honestly say that by the age of 21 (when he wrote this book) he demonstrated more efficiency in storytelling than most older authors I've read. However, if you're planning on picking this book up, don't expect a story that follows a linear path. This book revolves around a high school student named Jasper, who in the process of growing up, finds that life is never what you expect, and in those moments of chaos, you find out who you really are.


Lolito

by Ben Brooks

Again, can't say enough about the talent that is Ben Brooks. Lolito is about a high school student named Etgar Allison, who during a week alone finds out that he's been cheated on and quickly has his world spiral out of control. What I love about this book is how the story is told from the perspective a character who is in the process of dealing with grief, anger, sorrow, and pain, while still trying to process all of the other things that high schoolers are forced to deal with. I would call this one a dark comedy, but the end hits you pretty hard, when Etgar is forced to face the consequences of what he's done and learns how the world works.


Iron Gold

by Pierce Brown

I'll be honest, I didn't finish this one. While I loved the first three books in the Red Rising Trilogy, Brown's forth entry into the series felt shallow and filled with social themes that had no place being there. I get that in 2018 you have to be relevant to get people interested in your work - and I would have been okay with it, had it served an actual purpose - but this butchered all of the characters I had spent three books getting to know just for the purpose of being socially relevant. I only made it through half of this book. Will I ever finish it? I don't know, but probably not. However, I will definitely recommend the first three books for anybody interested in a good Science-Fiction story that mixes Roman culture with space battles.


Recovery

by Russell Brand

It's been a long year, and while I didn't dive into this book to tackle any addictions, it showed me aspects of myself that I definitely need to work on. For example, while reading this, I discovered that addiction can take many forms, including being busy. In fact, I've been so busy this year that I haven't taken any time to reflect on my life or where I'm at. And that's my fault, because I keep telling myself that as long as there's one more task to get done, I won't have to think about any of the things I need to deal with personally. Brand tackles the Twelve Step Program in this book, putting a more modern and less isolating spin on it. It even includes worksheets to help you through it. Even if you're not dealing with any addictions, this is a great book for encouraging new ways of thinking, while asking, "What is the pain? What does it want?"


Odd Thomas

by Dean Koontz

This one was a reread, but it is and will always be in my top five favorite novels. There's something about the character of Odd Thomas that makes me want to be a better person. I can't pinpoint exactly what that quality is, but he's an endearingly tragic character who makes the most of his circumstances. For those of you haven't had the honor of diving into this series, Odd Thomas is a fry cook with the ability to see dead people, and throughout the eight books that make up the series, his journey puts him on a collision course with fate, while helping anybody and everybody he can on the way there.


12 Rules of Life

by Jordan Peterson

Jordan Peterson is a man with plenty of controversy surrounding him. The funny thing is from reading this book and listening to his interviews on various podcasts, people don't actually have a good reason to dislike him, and the things they accuse him of are things that news outlets don't research or really know anything about. So if you pick this book up, go into it without any bias and it could change your world. It's not a self-help book (though it does have things in it that can help you). It's an in-depth look at the human mind and why we do the things we do. It examines self, being, and the Bible in a way that I could never imagine. It's full of knowledge and advice for anybody willing to seek it.


The Idolatry of God

by Peter Rollins

Yeah, I've got some struggles with the church. I believe in God, but I've been burnt by the church, and that fire is still burning today (though I'm doing what I can to manage it). In The Idolatry of God by Peter Rollins, I found peace and comfort in the fact that I'm not alone in my thinking. Many of the questions I've asked about church or things that I've thought about are discussed in his writing. This isn't a book that tells you not to go to church or bashes on the church. In fact, it's quite the opposite. It talks about what the church has become and what it needs to be to survive. If you're into theology, this is something I highly recommend.


Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

by Newt Scamander (J.K. Rowling)

There's something about the world created by J.K. Rowling that will always feel like home to me. So, naturally, any chance I get to go back to that world is something I'll gladly do (even if the experience isn't a good one like Crimes of Grindelwald). I've read the Harry Potter series once, and I wanted to go through it again this year. Before Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone, I thought maybe I should dive into the extra mythology a little. While this book doesn't tell a story of any kind, it's a nice look at the various magical creatures and where they might have popped up during the history of the wizarding world.


Quidditch Through the Ages

by J.K. Rowling

Another piece of expanded mythology from the Wizarding World of Harry Potter, Quidditch Through the Ages goes into the history of Quidditch and the various teams across the world that participate in the sport. This one is a little easier to read than Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, and is full of imaginative histories and whimsical humor.


The Tales of Beedle the Bard

by J.K. Rowling

Anybody who has read the Harry Potter novels is familiar with this book. As another book that exists within the books, The Tales of Beedle the Bard are like fairy tales and cautionary tales told to young wizards. One story amongst this collection shines above the others as it plays a key role in Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. If you're interested in finding out more about the three brothers and the deathly hallows that came to be in their possession, this is a fun read that expands on already elaborate lore.


Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone

by J.K. Rowling

We all know the story of the boy who lived. If you're one of those people who feels they've experienced the Harry Potter universe enough by simply watching the films. You couldn't be more wrong. Read this book, it's a gateway drug to the rest of them.


Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

by J.K. Rowling

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets is the first and (arguably) only time that Ron's younger sister Ginny gets to shine on her own steam during the series. Though Harry still has to rescue her in the end, it's nice to see her character get a little spotlight. After all, it's not her fault her essence was being consumed by a journal. Let this be a cautionary tale to all parents who want to buy their children school supplies.


Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

by J.K. Rowling

You're a wizard Harry! Also, your uncle might be a mass murderer. While Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban is the third book in the series, it's the first book to show a more serious and dark version of Harry Potter's world. It's also the first time we're introduced to the dementors who aren't reasonable enough to buy you dinner before they kiss you.


Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

by J.K. Rowling

This is by far my favorite book in this series. There's so much going on. Harry and his friends are coming of age and learning more about the dark battle ahead, there's dragons, and quidditch. What more can you ask for in a good Harry Potter novel? Though the page count gets a little long, this book goes a long way when it comes to explaining things that might not have made sense in the films.


Everything Changes

by Jonathan Tropper

If Jonathan Tropper isn't a name you're familiar with, you're missing out. If I named the authors that inspire me to write, his name would be close to the top. His characters are relatable, the stories pack an emotional punch, and he is a wordsmith without compare. If you're in the mood for a story about family, growing up, and facing tragedy, I would recommend Everything Changes.


This Is Where I Leave You

by Jonathan Tropper

Also a major motion picture starring Jason Bateman and Adam Driver, This Is Where I Leave You tells the story of a family who comes home to sit shiva after the death of their father. What really drew me into this book was the fact that the childhood house of this family wasn't just being occupied once again by the kids who grew up there, but also by the baggage they brought with them. Can you ever really go home again? This book explores that idea and more.


We All Looked Up

by Tommy Wallach

What would you do if the world was ending? We All Looked Up tells the tale of a world about to end, and what it would be like to be a teenager in that time. How do you live an entire life within the span of a few weeks? Would there be chaos? Would you laugh? Would you love? Would you go out without any regrets? This book doesn't answer all of life's greatest mysteries, but it does make you think about them.


13 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page