top of page
Josh Pederson

Josh Pederson's 2018 Television/Streaming Show List

Updated: Feb 27, 2019

If you know me beyond surface level interactions, you probably know that I don't watch much television. I don't really even watch Netflix these days (though I still pay the subscription). I have a thing about television shows. I don't like them. Yes, they have the freedom to tell stories in a longer format, but they're always in line for the chopping block. I though that Netflix was the exception to this rule, and suddenly they started cancelling all of the shows that I use to justify my subscription. So here's a list of everything I watched this year. This isn't in any particular order.


Daredevil (Season 3)

Daredevil has always been one of those "heroes" whose stories I'm drawn to because there are so many layers to his character. He isn't just fighting criminals and turning them over to the police, he's instilling in them a fear of God. Matt Murdock, Daredevil, and God have always been the trinity of this comic book, something that's translated well into the show. Season 3 picks up in the aftermath of the Defenders series, which was not received all too well by fans. But fear not, Daredevil's third outing more than makes up for the short comings of the Defenders. I don't want to give too much away because this is the best show I've watched all year, and I truly recommend it. Hopefully Disney gives Charlie Cox another run on their streaming service when the terms of the Netflix contract expires, because I honestly wouldn't want to see this character portrayed in any other way. If you want to read my review, you can read it here: https://www.popculturecosmos.com/blog/vengeance-pain-understanding-and-responsibility-the-mantle-of-god-the-burden-of-the-daredevil


Altered Carbon

Yeah, probably not a show you want to watch with your kids, or kids want to watch their parents, Altered Carbon is a Netflix show based on a book by the same name, written by author Richard K. Morgan. While the show can get gratuitous in its adult-oriented content, it all serves a purpose. What happens when mankind uses science to indulge their primal nature? When you throw immortality and technology into the mix, you get a society that resembles a mixture of Ancient Rome and Blade Runner. Speaking of Blade Runner, there is no shortage of odes to the great Phillip K. Dick novel "Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?" With three books and another season on the way, Altered Carbon is a story that's truly gripping - though probably not for kids.


Lost In Space

I didn't actually watch this one all the way through. I have a thing when it comes to annoying characters. The show looks absolutely beautiful, and there's plenty of intrigue. It's a far leap from it's original black and white television show and the 1998 film starring William Hurt and Matt LeBlanc. That being said, the antagonist in the show annoyed me beyond belief, and when I say annoying, I don't mean despicable. Cersei Lannister is despicable, the lady in this is unwatchable. I might try to drag myself through the rest of it one day, but I don't see it happening any time soon.


The Haunting of Hill House

I cannot say enough great things about this show. Based on the book by Shirley Jackson, The Haunting of Hill House tells the story of a family who grew up in America's most haunted house and how that affected their lives into adulthood. This is so much more than a horror show. There are so many layers to it that I don't even know where to start. Each of the children have a story arc that gets carried from start to finish, and every episode ends with you wanting to watch more. It takes some liberties when it comes to changing things in the book, but even Stephen King (who hates everything he doesn't make) enjoyed this one. I can't recommend it enough. Even my parents took a break from HGTV and the SPEED channel to view this one.


Grand Tour (Season 2)

Let's be honest, everybody over the age of fifteen has seen Top Gear at some point in their lives. Back when Clarkson, Hammond, and May were hosting, it was the most watched television in the entire world. Then the "fracas" happened and Jeremy Clarkson was let go. Huge mistake for BBC, as Richard Hammond and James May soon followed their friend towards greener pastors and the era of Top Gear came to an end (though they kept the showing going to less than great reviews). When Amazon announced they would be funding The Grand Tour, the world was once again a brighter place. Season 2 of this show, has more cars, more celebrities, and the return of stars in reasonably priced cars. I don't know how much longer these guys can keep doing what they're doing, but I've enjoyed every minute of it.


A-Typical (Season 2)

Probably one of the more underrated shows in the Netflix library, A-Typical has everything that a good show should have. It's compelling, it's family oriented, and it revolves around a subject that doesn't get the spotlight it deserves. A-Typical is about a family whose lives all circle around the a brother and son with Autism. Through the show, you follow Sam, who is ready for dating and romance, but isn't quite sure how it all works. After all, he's different, but through his perspective the world has all sorts of beauty that the rest of us don't notice. I would definitely recommend watching the first season before checking this one out, because this picks up almost directly after.


The Chilling Adventures of Sabrina

I was really excited about this show, but I only watched the first three episodes. I'll be honest, I had a hard time with some of the content. It was very dark, and a far stretch from the Sabrina the Teenage Witch I grew up with on TGIF. I keep debating going back to it, but even the first few episodes didn't exactly grab me. Maybe I need to give it a couple more episodes. As somebody who isn't exactly into Riverdale (made by the same people), this had a dramatic vibe that sort of pushed me away.


Immortal Iron Fist (Season 2)

Nobody will argue that Netflix's Iron Fist series isn't a great a show. The first season was slow, and it was hard to tell if Finn Jones wasn't a great actor or if he was given a bad script. However, as the series progressed, and he showed up in the Defenders, he started to own the role a little little more. By the time season 2 ended, Danny Rand was going places. I personally enjoyed the show (both seasons). As a huge fan the Immortal Iron Fist comic books, I was excited to see what aspects of those stories they were going to incorporate into the series. If you watched the after-credits scene from season 2, they were gearing up to do great things. Then, alas, Netflix announced its cancellation. It would seem that things aren't as friendly with Disney as the public was led to believe.


24 Hours to Hell and Back

I will watch anything with Gordon Ramsey in it. Why? Because it's quality television. Just kidding. Actually, Gordon Ramsey sometimes feels like the part of my personality that I hold back so I don't offend others, and I'm sure I'm not the only person whose drawn to his shows for that reason. As somebody who consumed every episode of Kitchen Nightmares and Hotel Hell, I was ecstatic when I found this show. It has everything that was great about the two above mentioned shows, but it compresses it into 24 hours instead of the few days the other ones took place over. Same Gordon Ramsey, same attitude. Season 2 premieres next week. Be sure to check it out.


Jessica Jones (Season 2)

Jessica Jones is one of those shows that I just didn't get. I enjoy the small parts she has in the Defenders comic books, but I honestly dragged myself through this show for the sake of continuity in the Netflix/Marvel timeline. I get that her show is a big step for #feminism, especially in the days of the #metoo movement, but both seasons of this show felt like they should have ended a few episodes before they did. Though the villains were compelling, there was a lot of drama just for the sake of drama. I will admit, however, that the second season (at least in my opinion) was a lot more interesting than the first one. I loved David Tennant, but after episode 8, he sort of wore out his charm.


Mobile Suit Gundam Unicorn

I'm not exactly sure how I ended up watching anime again. I honestly haven't watched anime since I was in high school. I think I was feeling nostalgic when I fell upon Mobile Suit Gundam Unicorn on Netflix, and wow. This show is not the Gundam Wing of my childhood. It's hyper violent and full of thought-provoking ideas. I was impressed. The political themes and the idea of children piloting mobile suits in a war that wasn't started by their generation resonated deep, especially into today's real world political climate. If you're an anime fan (and even if you're not) this is worth watching. All eight episodes are now streaming on Netflix, and doesn't feel anything like an anime. There are no tropes, only an immersive story from start to to finish.


Luke Cage (Season 2)

Okay, so this season of Luke Cage was not bad at all. I was genuinely annoyed by some of the characters in the last season (not to mention the pacing). While some of those same characters were back this season, the story was so compelling, they didn't bother me. Bushmaster is a truly terrifying villain, yet, you sympathize with his struggle. You also sympathize with Luke Cage and his need to stop Bushmaster. This is the first time I've watched a show where I liked both the antagonist and the protagonist the same. Plus, the crossover with Danny Rand aka the Iron Fist was fun to watch. This is definitely a step up from the snooze-fest that was the first season. Unfortunately, unless Disney brings the character back, we won't be seeing Mike Colter's take on the character again.


Mobile Suit Gundam Seed

Sort of dragging myself through this show. I could honestly not finish it and be okay with that. I was hoping to keep riding that nostalgia train that Mobile Suit Gundam Unicorn started me on. While there's plenty of action in this one, it's more of an anime and the animation style feels far too cartoony for the themes they're playing with. If you watched the original Mobile Suit Gundam in the '80s this is basically a reiteration of that story, but for a modern audience. It also marks the first time a Gundam timeline has featured multiple series since then.


Expedition Unknown

Probably the only network television show on this list, Expedition Unknown features explorer/archeologist/television personality Josh Gates seeking out myths, legends, and the occasional buried treasure. No drama, no poor scripts, and it often ends with Gates not finding what he's looking for, but it's like they say, it's not about the destination, it's about the journey. This is a fun journey to watch.


Dragonball Super

I will forever be a Dragonball fan. I remember getting home from school when I was in Elementary School to watch Dragonball Z on Toonami. Though Dragonball Super feels more like filler than the other series did, it's a fun show with plenty of tropes, plenty of battles, and the same old Goku getting into trouble.


#netflix #marvel #daredevil #daredevilseason3 #daredevilcancellation #alteredcarbon #bladerunner #television #televisionshows #lostinspace #defenders #grandtour #amazonprime #jeremyclarkson #jamesmay #richardhammond #cars #fastcars #luxurycars #shenanigans #aytpical #mentalhealth #autism #ironfist #dannyrand #immortalironfist #comicbooks #finnjones #gordanramsey #24hourstohellandback #kitchennightmares #hotelhell #fox #gundam #mobilesuitgundam #gundamwing #gundamunicorn #anime #mobilesuits #mech #joshgates #expeditionunknown #destinationtruth #discoverychannel #exploration #treasurehunting #jessicajones #jessicajonesseason2 #jessicajonescancellation #marvelcinematicuniverse #jessicaritter #gundamseed #gundamseeddestiny #mobilesuitgundamseed #lukecage #mikecolter #halo5 #bushmaster #lukecageseason2 #lukecagecancellation #dragonball #dragonballz #dragonballgt #dragonballsuper #goku #vegeta #gohan #2018television #2018televisionlist #2018shows #sabrina #chillingadventuresofsabrina #tgif #sabrinatheteenagewitch #televisionseasons #hauntingofhillhouse #horrorshows #novels #lostinspace #sciencefiction #drama #televisiondramas

16 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page