top of page
Josh Pederson

Josh Pederson's 2018 Video Game List

If you follow me at all, or you know me in real life, you're probably well aware that I am a huge fan of video games. Not only are video games an amazing medium for storytelling, they can take us places and immerse us in ways that movies and books could never do - though I do love movies and books. As somebody who reviews games, I get sent a lot of games I would rather not play, but I chose to include them on this list anyway on the off chance that you might find interest where I didn't. Here are all of the games I purchased and/or received review codes for in 2018. These have all been released this year. I'll include a list of my back catalogue games at the end.


God of War

(Completed)

Very rarely does a game ever live up the hype created by gaming journalists. God of War is the exception to the rule. Everything about this game completely surpassed my expectations. Not only did they reinvent the franchise, they managed to take a very one-dimensional character and give him depth. God of War isn't so much a video game as much as it is an experience in raising kids and coping with tragedy. It was nice to see it win Game of the Year at this year's Video Game Awards. It has an amazing story, a solid soundtrack, and will leave you wanting to play more even after the credits roll. Check out my full review here: https://www.popculturecosmos.com/blog/a-story-of-fatherhood-god-of-war-review


Far Cry 5

If you've played one Far Cry game, you've played them all, or so I thought. When I first saw the trailer for Far Cry 5 at E3 2017, the setting looked interesting, but it appeared to have all of the typical aspects of a Far Cry game. You have weapons, you do side quests, you explore worlds that are often far too big, and you do this while sort of taking on the persona of a '90s action film hero. While Far Cry 5 still had many of those things, there was something about the antagonist and his "family" that made you not want to put the controller down. The world is beautiful and the story is terrifying. And what makes it terrifying is the fact that these sort of things have the potential to happen in real life. I haven't beaten the final area in the game, but since there's a sequel due out next year, I'm assuming it's going to be crazy.


Forza Horizon 4

(Completed)

Every once in a while (usually once a year), I want to play a racing game. Since Gran Turismo is no longer making games that are actually fun to play, that leaves Turn 10 and Playground Games' Forza series. For those of you who are unfamiliar with this franchise, it's everything you love about the racing simulators of old, but with all of the things that make a modern racing game fun. While the main Forza Motorsports games are your typical track and upgrade affairs, Forza Horizon is an open world experience that lets you navigate open landscapes in search of racing events tied to the annual Horizon Festival. Forza Horizon 4 is a beautiful game with plenty to do for all racing enthusiasts of all different skill levels. In fact, I can't wait to dive back into this world when the add ons come out. You can read my full review here: https://www.popculturecosmos.com/blog/a-breath-taking-ride-across-the-united-kingdom-forza-horizon-4-review


Sea of Thieves

Let me be real forward here, Sea of Thieves is one of those games that's fun for maybe the first 5 to 10 hours you play it. I admire Rare and Microsoft working together to build the experience based on the feedback of the fans, but without a progression system and an open world that's overly beneficial to trolls, this game becomes tiresome really fast, and that makes me sad. Ever since I was a kid, I wanted an open world pirate game I could play with my friends, but after a run-in with the kraken and being shot at by other ships while also being attacked by the kraken, I don't imagine I'll be going back to this one any time soon.


Octopath Traveler

I didn't get as far into this one as I would have liked. I'm actually hoping to get back into it after Christmas. That being said, I love the way the game throws you into different characters like a P.O.V. novel. Each character has a story to tell and different skills they bring into battle. The gameplay is fun, but the visuals are incredible. It looks like a JRPG from days gone by, but with more colors and backgrounds that sometimes pop out of the screen. Play it.


Kingdom Come Deliverance

I got maybe two hours into this game. This was collectively purchased by myself and the other dudes at the late and great Super BS Gamescast. I admire what they tried to do with this game, but unfortunately it never clicked with me. I guess I'm too used to medieval games having a fantasy element to them. Kingdom Come Deliverance has a compelling story, but the combat is incredibly difficult, and at times, the overly realistic gameplay becomes a hassle. I won't tell you not to play this one, because I love what they tried to do (and you get to throw poop at people), but I won't be going back to it.


Lost Sphear

(Completed)

I've always felt at home in a good JRPG. There's something about wandering through towns, talking to NPCs, and training your team of characters to take on the various baddies throughout the world, while playing through a compelling story that just makes an excellent formula for a video game. While I did enjoy aspects of Lost Sphear, there were quite a few things that I didn't like. So rather than rehashing it, click on the link for my full review: https://www.popculturecosmos.com/blog/lost-sphear-review-the-moon-is-an-angry-child


Fe

(Completed)

I absolutely loved this game. It's like a celestial bed time story. The one thing I don't like about it, however, is the name. Whenever I talk about this game with people, there's always some pretentious jackass who feels the need to correct me by saying "It's pronounced Feeee." Two questions . . . how do they know that? And how can I possibly have a conversation with somebody who needed to assert their dominance less than a sentence in? I have some thoughts, but let's move on. I love this game. I love the way the game looks and plays. The music is calming, like a lullaby. The story doesn't really make sense, but it didn't leave me angry or unfulfilled. Fe is an experience that just is. You can read my full review here: https://www.popculturecosmos.com/blog/fe-review-a-return-to-nature


Final Fantasy XV: Pocket Edition

Whenever I get asked about this game, I always see the wide-eyed expectations of a full Final Fantasy experience on mobile. While I won't put your dreams down, because I do honestly believe that one day that experience will be delivered (and not just ported), this is not that. Final Fantasy XV: Pocket Edition is a watered down, compact, and linear version of Final Fantasy XV (a game that I absolutely loved). Maybe I went into it with my expectations too high, but I feel like there are aspects of Final Fantasy XV that can't be delivered in a shortened version of the game. And without those aspects, the game feels empty.


Life Is Strange: The Awesome Adventures of Captain Spirit

(Completed)

Who doesn't love a free game? What I didn't expect from this game was something that was as emotional and compelling as what was delivered. I went into it having not played any other games in the Life is Strange series, and I was pleasantly surprised. It plays like a novel, and the soundtrack makes you feel things that I haven't ever felt in a video game. Chris's story is tragic and in his imagination he finds escape. If you're looking for something that's free to play and have the patience for narrative driven games, play this!


Darwin Project

This was one of those review games that I wasn't really into reviewing. I'm not a multiplayer kind of person, and I'm especially not a battle royale, multiplayer kind of person. That doesn't mean that I don't have mad respect for people who play Fortnite. I honestly wish I was that coordinated, it's just not something I go out of my way to play. The Darwin Project was pleasantly surprising. It's like Fortnite (sort of), but you have to craft your own weapons and kill other inmates for the sake of a television show. Think of Death Race but without cars and Jason Statham. I especially loved the bounty mechanic, where somebody's name will flash on the screen and everybody goes after that person for the sake of an extra reward. Was it fun? Yeah. Will I go back to it? No.


Shadow of the Tomb Raider

(Completed)

Oh cool, another game about the Mayan Apocalypse . . . says very few people ever. Let's talk about Shadow of the Tomb Raider. It was an excellent game, another great outing for the reimagined Lara Croft. It has plenty of action, a lot to explore, and enough extra things to justify that $59.99 price point. That being said, after the other two games were so great and built up a genuinely interesting narrative, I don't think that this final entry in the new origin trilogy of Lara Croft was a fitting end to the epic story we've been following since 2013. Don't get me wrong. I want you to play this game. I loved this game. However, it's not the best game. It could have been better. Check out my full review here: https://www.popculturecosmos.com/blog/the-end-of-the-world-the-end-of-trilogy-shadow-of-the-tomb-raider-review


Assassin's Creed Odyssey

(Completed)

Before I let this out on any of the end of the year podcasts that I'm scheduled to be on, I'll let you in on a secret: My game of the year is tied between God of War and this. Assassin's Creed Odyssey is one of those rare titles that have made me want to explore every aspect of the game. I think I logged about 93 hours into this masterpiece by the time the credits rolled. For $59.99 -and I think it's on sale for less as I'm writing this - it's worth every penny. This is the first Assassin's Creed game that has had a compelling story and an immersive world that makes you want to do all of the side quests and invest in all of the characters. It has three main quest lines and each one is just as interesting as the others. I'll have a review up for this game soon, but please, do yourselves a favor and play it.


Pokemon Let's Go Pikachu

(Completed)

Clear your schedules for a nice trip back to Kanto. Pokemon Let's Go Pikachu takes you back to a familiar region with familiar pokemon and characters, yet, they manage to make everything feel unfamiliar. This is essentially a remaster of Pokemon Yellow, but instead of playing as Red and Blue, the trainers from the first game, you play a new trainer from Pallet Town and you're joined by a rival who is also from Pallet Town. The removal of random battle encounters shortens the game considerably, but by the time you get all of the badges and take on the Elite Four, it still feels like a complete experience. And if this is anything like what next year's main entry on Nintendo Switch is going to be like, sign me up. Read my full review here: https://www.popculturecosmos.com/blog/gotta-catch-em-all-again-pokemon-let-s-go-pikachu-review


Battle Princess Madelyn

(Completed)

Battle Princess Madelyn is the most frustrating game I have ever played. Yet, when I was done playing it, I felt satisfaction that I haven't experienced since making it to the last level of Sonic the Hedgehog when I was a kid. The developers took great care when crafting the 2-D world in which Madelyn lives, fights, and dies (a lot). If you're looking for a good retro throwback with aspects of a modern role playing game, Battle Princess Madelyn might just be the game for you. Caution, though, it does require patience. Check out my full review here: https://www.popculturecosmos.com/blog/battle-princess-madelyn-a-satisfying-descent-into-madness


Sypro Reignited Trilogy

When I first heard that Spyro the Dragon was being remastered, my inner child was ecstatic. Spryo was the very first game that I saved up the money to buy all by myself and completed without the help of friends or cheat codes. That was quite a monumental day for me. As of the writing of this article, I have finished Spyro the Dragon and Spyro 2: Ripto's Rage. Toys for Bob did an excellent job with this remaster. The colors are vibrant, the gameplay feels new, and the voice overs are clear and occasionally comedic. I'm still hoping it'll be released on Nintendo Switch one day, but I love it today just as much as I loved it when I was kid.


Back Catalogue Games I've Played This Year


Since these aren't the only games I've played this year, I'll give you a look at my gaming back catalogue. These are in no particular order, and I think I've only finished a few of them.


Elder Scrolls: Skyrim Remastered (Xbox One/Finished)

Wolfenstein: The New Order (Xbox One/Finished)

N++ (Xbox One)

Tomb Raider Definitive Edition (Xbox One/Finished)

XenoBlade Chronicles 2 (Nintendo Switch)

Halo Reach (Xbox 360)

BioShock Infinite (Xbox 360)

Rise of the Tomb Raider (Xbox One/Finished)

Metro 2033 (Xbox One)

Fable Anniversary (Xbox 360)

The Vanishing of Ethan Carter (Xbox One)

Forza Motorsports 7 (Xbox One/Finished)

Elder Scrolls: Skyrim (Nintendo Switch)

Wolfenstein II: The New Colossus (Xbox One/Finished)

Doom (Xbox One)

Kingdom Hearts 1.5 (PS4/Finished)

Kingdom Hearts Re: Chain of Memories (PS4)


#sony #godofwar #actiongame #adventuregame #norsemythology #farcry #farcry5 #hopecounty #ubisoft #forza #forzamotorsports #forzahorizon #forzahorizon4 #playgroundgames #microsoft #seaofthieves #pirates #rare #raregames #pirategames #octopathtraveler #jrpg #roleplayinggame #squareenix #nintendo #kingdomcomedeliverance #medieval #historicalgame #lostsphear #tokyorpgfactory #fe #ea #indiegames #indiedevs #indiestudios #gaming #videogames #finalfantasy #finalfantasyxv #finalfantasypocket #ffpocketedition #noctis #lifeistrange #captainspirit #assassinscreed #assassinscreedodyssey #acodyssey #greece #ubisoft #ancientgreece #atlantis #pokemon #pokemonletsgo #pokemonletsgopikachu #pikachu #retrogaming #platformgames #battleprincessmadelyn #spyrothedragon #spyroreignited #playstation #playstation4 #xbox #xboxone #nintendoswitch

29 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page